AdministrationManage users and permissionsManage users globallyView and edit a user account

View user details

View user details when you want to see login, and organizations and permissions settings associated with a user.

Before you begin:

  • Ensure you have Grafana server administrator privileges

To view user details:

  1. Sign in to Grafana as a server administrator.
  2. Hover your cursor over the Server Admin (shield) icon until a menu appears, and click Users.
  3. Click a user.

A user account contains the following sections.

User information

This section contains basic user information, which users can update.

Server Admin user information section

Permissions

This indicates whether the user account has the Grafana administrator flag applied. If the flag is set to Yes, then the user is a Grafana server administrator.

Server Admin Permissions section

Organisations

This section lists the organizations the user belongs to and their assigned role.

Server Admin Organizations section

Sessions

This section includes recent user sessions and information about the time the user logged in and they system they used. You can force logouts, if necessary.

Server Admin Sessions section

Edit a user account

Edit a user account when you want to modify user login credentials, or delete, disable, or enable a user.

Before you begin

  • Ensure you have Grafana server administrator privileges

To edit a user account:

  1. Sign in to Grafana as a server administrator.
  2. Hover your cursor over the Server Admin (shield) icon until a menu appears, and click Users.
  3. Click a user.
  4. Complete any of the following actions, as necessary.
Action Description
Update name, email, or username Is the user notified of these changes?. Click Save after you make a change.
Change the user’s password The new password must be at least four characters long. Click Save after you make a change.
Delete a user This action permanently removes the user from the Grafana server. The user can no longer sign in after you make this change.
Disable user account This action prevents a user from signing in with this account, but does not delete the account. You might disable an account if a colleague goes on sabbatical.
Enable a user account This action enables a user account.