AdministrationUser managementServer user managementAdd or remove a user in an organization

Add or remove a user in an organization

Server administrators can add and remove users in organizations. To do this as an organization administrator, see Manage users in an organization.

Add a user to an organization

Add a user to an organization when you want the user to have access to organization resources such as dashboards, data sources, and playlists. A user must belong to at least one organization.

You are required to specify an Admin role for each organization. The first user you add to an organization becomes the Admin by default. After you assign the Admin role to a user, you can add other users to an organization as either Admins, Editors, or Viewers.

Before you begin

To add a user to an organization:

  1. Sign in to Grafana as a server administrator.

  2. Hover your cursor over the Server Admin (shield) icon until a menu appears, and click Users.

  3. Click a user.

  4. In the Organizations section, click Add user to organization.

  5. Select an organization and a role.

    For more information about user permissions, refer to Organization roles.

  6. Click Add to organization.

The next time the user signs in, they will be able to navigate to their new organization using the Switch Organizations option in the user profile menu.

Note: If you have organization administrator permissions and not server administrator permissions, you can still invite a user to join an organization.

Remove a user from an organization

Remove a user from an organization when they no longer require access to the dashboards, data sources, or alerts in that organization.

Before you begin

  • Ensure you have Grafana server administrator privileges

To remove a user from an organization:

  1. Sign in to Grafana as a server administrator.
  2. Hover your cursor over the Server Admin (shield) icon until a menu appears, and click Users.
  3. Click a user.
  4. In the Organization section, click Remove from organization next to the organization from which you want to remove the user.
  5. Click Confirm removal.

Note: If you have organization administrator permissions and not server administrator permissions, you can still remove a user from an organization in the Users section of organization configuration.