Help build the future of open source observability software Open positions

Check out the open source projects we support Downloads

Grot cannot remember your choice unless you click the consent notice at the bottom.

Learn how to monitor IoT devices with Grafana

Learn how to monitor IoT devices with Grafana

April 24, 2023 4 min

IoT devices open the door to all sorts of computing potential, but they can also produce a flood of telemetry data that users need to properly collect and monitor to ensure those devices are working properly.

It’s no wonder so many individuals and businesses use Grafana for IoT use cases, whether they’re starting an aquaponic farm in South Africa, managing an industrial-scale electroplating factory in Ohio, or simply keeping tabs on Pretzel the python at its home in the UK. 

It’s also why IoT is a big topic of discussion at our biggest community event of the year — GrafanaCON 2023, streaming live June 12 to June 14. If you’re looking to get your personal IoT project up and running, or if you need help managing a fleet of globally distributed (and beyond) devices, we’ve got you covered. Sign up for GrafanaCON today and check out these sessions that IoT users won’t want to miss.

Grafana + IoT

Using Grafana to track satellites with the Libre Space Foundation

Tuesday, June 13 | 08:15 PDT, 17:15 CEST, 15:15 UTC

Libre Space Foundation Core Contributor Patrick Dohmen will talk about how SatNOGS, the biggest open source network of satellite ground stations, uses Grafana dashboards to help researchers identify and track their satellites and make use of the data collected. Grafana dashboards are a crucial connection point for the community, and Patrick will show how you too can use Grafana to participate in hunting satellites.

The title card for the satellite tracking session, including the title of the session, the date and time, and the GrafanaCON 2023 logo.

Monitoring high-throughput real-time telemetry data at Daimler Truck with the Grafana Stack

Wednesday, June 14 | 08:00 PDT, 17:00 CEST, 15:00 UTC

Daimler Truck manages anonymized data from more than 8,000 connected buses operating in Europe. They collect telemetry data on vehicle speed, GPS position, acceleration values, braking force, and more, with a throughput of roughly 300,000 messages per second — 7 MB at peak — and an average latency of around five seconds between the vehicle and when the data is available for consumption. They do so in a Kubernetes environment that’s monitored in near real-time via a stack of Grafana, Grafana Loki, Prometheus (leveraging Grafana Mimir), and Pyrra.

Tune in to watch Adrien Bestel, Principal Engineer at tb.lx by Daimler Truck, demonstrate how they run three environments (dev / int / prod), with three separate Grafana instances, and how they synchronized the corresponding dashboards using the Grafana APIs.

The title card for the Daimler Truck session, including the title of the session, the date and time, and the GrafanaCON 2023 logo.

Get started with home automation with Raspberry Pi and Grafana Cloud

Wednesday, June 14 | 12:30 PDT, 21:30 CEST, 19:30 UTC

The universe of home automation is ever expanding, and this session will help you take baby steps to get started visualizing and monitoring your home with a few smart devices, some which you may already have around the house. Grafana Labs Principal Solutions Engineer Navish Bahl will show you what you can do with a Raspberry Pi, Grafana Cloud, Ring home security system, Ecobee thermostat, two smart power plugs (powering TVs), home router, HP printer, Macbook, and even his wife’s blood sugar monitor!

The title card for the home automation session, including the title of the session, the date and time, and the GrafanaCON 2023 logo.

Using Prometheus, Python, and Grafana Cloud for data-driven triathlon training

Wednesday, June 14 | 13:00 PDT, 22:00 CEST, 20:00 UTC

Kyle Shelton is a Senior DevOps Engineer at Toyota Racing Development by day and triathlete in his free time. He’s data-driven on and off the track, and he’s excited to share how he brings together his two passions..

Kyle will demonstrate how he uses generative AI to write Python scripts that pull data from fitness APIs like trainingpeaks, as well as how Grafana Cloud and Prometheus can be used to create custom dashboards to monitor your progress. He’ll also share tips and tricks on how to take advantage of Grafana’s composable nature to build useful dashboards for personal and professional projects.

The title card for the triathlon training session, including the title of the session, the date and time, and the GrafanaCON 2023 logo.

There’s plenty more to learn about at GrafanaCON. Check out the full schedule to find out what else we have in store, and if you haven’t already, register now for free.