Blog  /  Community

GrafanaCONline 2022 Day 1 recap: Grafana 9 release, Grafana OnCall open source, Grafana and Grafana Loki in space, and more!

15 Jun 2022 7 min read

GrafanaCONline 2022 is off to a great start with exciting news from around the Grafana-verse and a jam-packed day filled with dashboards showcasing how Grafana is used in space, in industrial IoT, at live events, and even in an effort to prevent food waste. 

You can tune into GrafanaCONline 2022 live (for free!) for today’s lineup of awesome speakers, or you can sign up to get notified about on-demand access to all our session recordings, which will be available after GrafanaCONline ends on June 17. 

If you didn’t get a chance to watch Day 1 of GrafanaCONline 2022, here’s what you missed.

Opening keynote

GrafanaCONline 2022 officially launched with the opening keynote, featuring Grafana Labs CEO and Co-founder Raj Dutt, Chief Grafana Officer and Co-founder Torkel Ödegaard, and Senior Engineering Manager Myrle Krantz. Along with previewing the much-anticipated release of Grafana 9.0 and the new and improved Grafana Alerting experience. We also revealed some exciting news for our open source community — Grafana OnCall is the newest member of our open source family, bringing on-call management to the open source community.

For a demo of the latest features in Grafana 9.0, tune into today’s session “Deep dive into Grafana 9.” And to see how the latest updates work in Grafana Alerting, sign up for the “Alerting in Grafana 9: What’s new and improved” session on Thursday, June 16, at 08:00 PDT, 17:00 CEST, 15:00 UTC.

Sign up for on demand access.

Opening keynote for GrafanaCONline 2022

Grafana and Grafana Loki in space: Monitoring Earth Station Operations for Dish Network

How does one team keep 8 million satellite TV customers happy with constant uptime that allows viewers to enjoy their favorite programming? Deploy Grafana and Grafana Loki to monitor the physical components of Dish Network’s uplink facilities (think antenna motion, radio frequency signal levels, and more) as well as all of the Dish Network’s content. 

Ted Raymond, Systems Administrator Engineer at Dish Network’s Earth Station Operations, walked through how Grafana and Grafana Loki has helped his team catch HDD consumption issues, discovered antennas not operating correctly before it became a problem, recognized the variation in transmitter performance across the organization, and even used Grafana to monitor the de-orbit of spacecraft. Over time, they have grown from one local Grafana instance to a multi-server, multi-user, multi-team platform —and they continue to expand because, as Ted put it, Grafana “is so easy, it builds itself.”  

Sign up for on demand access.

Dish network session at GrafanaCONline 2022

Follow your star and improve your astrophotography with Grafana Cloud

Even for hobbyists, astrophotography requires fancy and expensive gear, mounts, and cameras. In order to gather really good photos, you need a very stable and accurate mount. You also need a guide camera that tracks the movement of a star and sends corrective pulses to your mount to accurately follow this star. This process of tracking and sending guiding pulses creates a ton of metric data – data that can be stored in Grafana Cloud and visualized. In this session, Senior Solutions Engineer Willie Engelbrecht showed examples of what happens when guiding goes wrong (photos of blurry stars, star trailing), some failed (but still cool) images of galaxies, and those perfect shots when the stars aligned and Grafana helped improve his astrophotography.

Sign up for on demand access.

Astrophotography session at GrafanaCONline 2022

Live-monitoring stocks and crypto with Grafana Cloud

During a recent company-wide hackathon at Grafana Labs, a team of engineers decided to take on a use case that has a massive amount of time series data, where folks like to stare at time series graphs all day (ideally up and to the right), and where up-to-date information (live data!) is critical: stocks and crypto trading by institutional and retail traders. In this session, the hackathon team showcased the live stock/crypto monitoring platform they built, combining the power of Grafana Loki, Grafana Mimir, and Grafana via Grafana Cloud.

Sign up for on demand access.

Stocks and crypto in Grafana Cloud during GrafanaCONline 2022

How Apeel Sciences uses Grafana to optimize its treatment processes and reduce food waste

Apeel Sciences is a Santa Barbara-based ag-tech company whose mission is to work with nature to reduce food waste and create abundance for all. Apeel is a family of plant-derived coatings for fresh fruits and vegetables. Made from materials found in every bite of fruit and vegetables you eat every day, Apeel creates an edible “peel” on the outside surface of fresh produce that helps to reinforce the peel and slow down spoilage. By staying fresh and delicious up to two times longer, Apeel-protected produce helps prevent waste, which in turn conserves precious resources like water and avoids greenhouse gas emissions to help mitigate climate change. 

In this session, you’ll see how the company leverages Grafana’s low-code platform to monitor their food treatment processes around the world in real time and create collaboration across disparate operations teams. There’s also a demo of how the Apeel team uses Grafana to measure throughput of any given food within a certain timeframe at their various global locations.

Sign up for on demand access.

Apeel Sciences session at GrafanaCONline 2022

Modernizing industrial IoT monitoring with Grafana visualization

At Varland Plating, a 60-employee electroplating company, they have been using programmable logic controllers (PLCs) made by Opto22 for decades. They love their product line, and are too heavily invested to consider moving all of their control programming to another line. However, simply put, they find Opto22’s software for data visualization limiting: There are only line graphs, and the graph has to be configured and a runtime environment has to be running in order for data to be captured and charted.

Toby Varland, VP of Technology at Varland Plating, talked about how his team has begun moving data from Opto22 PLCs into InfluxDB, MQTT brokers, and more in an effort to expand their capabilities – which is made possible by having Grafana as the primary visualization platform for all this data. A sure sign of success? Varland’s production personnel love it, and constantly ask when they’ll have everything in the factory changed over. Toby said: “Grafana has really filled a need for us.”

Sign up for on demand access.

Industrial IoT at GrafanaCONline 2022

28,000 people, 2,300 wireless access points, 650 network switches, and jumbo dashboards: How Grafana provides data visibility at Cisco Live

Cisco Live is the network industry’s largest event bringing together over 28,000 attendees in the U.S. and 17,000 in Europe. The weeklong event includes training, new product announcements, onsite labs, keynotes, partner product showcases, entertainment — and more than 2,300 wireless access points and 650 network switches.

The Network Operations Center team uses Cisco’s commercial management products alongside open source solutions, including Grafana, to collect network statistics and display interesting metrics about the conference. A large video display wall shows a rotating set of dashboards with event statistics - performance, consumption, device count, availability, and latency measurements. Cisco Distinguished Engineer and NOC operations lead, Jason Davis, highlighted how Grafana plays a significant role in visualizing telemetry and instrumentation across network, wireless, compute, storage, and attendee metrics.

Sign up for on demand access.

Cisco Live session during GrafanaCONline 2022

Don’t miss today’s GrafanaCONline 2022 sessions! 

Deep dive into Grafana 9
8:00 PDT, 17:00 CEST, 15:00 UTC
with Ivana Huckova, Torkel Ödegaard, and Giordano Ricci from Grafana Labs

Using Grafana and machine learning for real-time microscopy image analysis 
8:55 PDT, 17:55 CEST, 15:55 UTC
with Christopher Field from Theia Scientific and Mikhail Volkov from Volkov Labs 

How to get started in minutes with Grafana Mimir, our new horizontally scalable TSDB 
9:25 PDT, 18:25 CEST, 16:25 UTC
with Marco Pracucci and Peter Štibraný from Grafana Labs

A beginner’s guide to hacking electronics to display Grafana dashboards 
9:55 PDT, 18:55 CEST, 16:55 UTC
with Yonatan Mevorach from Wix.com

Beyond tracing with Grafana Tempo: What do we do with all this data? 
10:30 PDT, 19:30 CEST, 17:30 UTC
with Annanay Agarwal, Marty Disibio, Joe Elliott, and Koenraad Verheyden from Grafana Labs

How Optum uses Grafana Enterprise for a top-to-bottom view of its healthcare website 
11:00 PDT, 20:00 CEST, 18:00 UTC
with Mark G. Smith from Optum Digital 

How Grafana helped me get healthier 
11:30 PDT, 20:30 CEST, 18:30 UTC
with Kristina Durivage from Grafana Labs

Grafana Labs hackathon showcase: Doomfana, real-time drone tracking, and a panel plugin for geospatially aware data 
12:00 PDT, 21:00 CEST, 19:00 UTC
with Stephanie Closson, Tabor Henderson, David Kim, Domas Lapinskas, Nathan Marrs, Bogdan Matei, Kostas Pelelis from Grafana Labs

Check out the full GrafanaCONline 2022 schedule here.

And don’t forget you can connect with the Grafana community and get the latest updates from the Grafana Labs team during the event on the Grafana Labs Community Slack. Join the #grafanacon channel.